Spiced butterflied leg of lamb

  This one goes out to Andrew Bowler. The man who rips the piss out of me for writing these blogs, whilst at the same time encouraging me to write them!

My leg of lamb came on the bone. It’s fairly easy to take it off, simply follow the bone! There’s plenty of YouTube vids showing you exactly how, get stuck in! 

For the marinade:

  1. 1 bulb of garlic. Cloves crushed or grated
  2. One large piece of ginger, 3 inches by 3 inches 
  3. 1 tsp turmeric
  4. 1 tsp ground cumin
  5. 1 tsp ground coriander
  6. 1 tsp garam masala
  7. 1 tbsp ground black pepper
  8. 1 tbsp cumin seeds
  9. 1 tbsp chilli powder
  10. 3 tbsp salt
  11. Zest and juice of a lime

Mix it up and smear it all over, I scored my piece of lamb to get the marinade right into the meat. Leave it to marinade over night, or as long as you can wait! To stop temptation me and my pals went down the pub.  

The cooking of this lamb all depends on the weight of your piece of meat. Weigh it once you’ve de-boned it and cook it at for 15 minutes for every 450g at 220°C and rest it for at least 15 minutes. It’ll be juicy, pink and fucking lovely. 

Do that and it’ll look like this: 

 So good I couldn’t stop my inebriated mates from helping themselves before I could get a picture! 

We ate it with a Cous Cous salad with left over roasted veg stirred through and a massive handful of coriander. 

It was bloody lovely. 

Leave a Reply

